A Pause to Reflect on Reaching 100 Posts

It’s been an experience.

Over the past couple of years, I have had the pleasure of indulging a life-long passion: writing.  I love to write as a means of self-expression, but also to entertain and enlighten.  I have often thought that if I could choose a different career, I would love to be a writer.  Not that anything I have ever written has ever been that good.  But I have poured my heart and soul into the essays I have crafted and shared with my willing readers.  You have seen more of the true me than I normally ever share in public.

I have never tried to force my words on anyone.  I have shared freely as a way to spark dialog and encourage people not to blindly accept anything, but rather to think for themselves.  God gave us all brains for a reason.  We need to use them, and often to keep the cobwebs swept out and protect the precious gift of free will.

So much of what I have written has been of a rather focused nature regarding issues that I believe have concerns for Christians who are heirs of a bold and noble historical movement, the Stone-Campbell Restoration.  That is my heritage, and I intend to remain with it because it is what I know best.  But while that is my heritage and my fellowship, my allegiance is not to any organization.  My faith, my hope is in Jesus, not in any particular wing or splinter group of any church.  Like Paul, I want to know Jesus as well as I possibly can; learn of him and from him.  I want his words to speak to me, not filtered through any group’s dogmas, written or unwritten creeds or assimilated doctrines.  As the hymn reminds, “He the great example is, and pattern for me.”  I am confident in my faith that I am what I am happily by his mercy, and most thankfully by his grace.  I am a Christian who neither requires nor demands any other description.

I hope that the things I have written have been of interest to the broader scope of Christendom as well, and even beyond.  As I have related, I lived for so long outside the door, as C.S. Lewis visualized. I could hear the fellowship, see the glow from within, but I could not make myself knock and ask for admission.  Not until I was able to set aside fear and embrace the essence of true Christianity: love.  The rich themes of love and mercy and grace play throughout all of scripture far more than fear.  If I have accomplished anything with these essays, I hope that someone may be challenged to lay aside fear or prejudice or misconceptions and embrace that essence.

As I have grown over these last few years in faith and insight, I have seen so much more of what God expects of his people.  He is love, and he expects us to be like him.  From the beginning mankind was expected to take care of God’s good creation.  That not only includes all of nature, but our fellow humans, as well.  Justice and mercy have been ongoing themes in things I have written, and they shall continue to be because they have become so deeply ingrained in me.

I welcome any and all to read these words.  Share them, think on them, consider them, but please do it in the spirit of charity with which they are always offered.  I have never set out to offend in anything.  If I have, I am deeply sorry for any misunderstanding that may have arisen.

In the wonderful classic motion picture, Chariots of Fire, the Christian missionary turned Olympian, Eric Liddell, delivers a line that I have remembered since the first time I saw the film.  He said, “I believe God made me for a purpose, but he also made me fast. And when I run I feel His pleasure.”  I told my dad just this morning that I feel the same way when I write.  I pray that all that I have shared has been seen as it is intended: to glorify God.

So, as sort of a celebration of this landmark 100th post, here is a list of the top 10 most viewed essays as of 1 November 2014.  Many thanks to all who have read these posts and shared them with others.  Your encouragement has lifted my spirit on many dark days.

Exploring a Multidimensional Reality from the Human Nexus

Marcellus Gallio’s Defense Before Caligula, From “The Robe” (1953)

Coming to Terms with “Joy to the World”

Logic and the Turtle on the Fence Post

In Search of a Different Kind of Conservatism

Questions

When Ignorance Becomes Sin

Toward a Better Understanding of Atheism

Thoughts on Patterns, Examples, and Restoration

This may not be perfectly accurate, however, as the numbers only reflect the counts since I moved my blog over to Word Press.  For me, it’s sort of a walk down memory lane.

I look forward to many more opportunities to share observations and reflections.  As long as I have reasonable control of my mental faculties, I will continue to think, explore, and share with all who may be interested.  Without this forum, I might continue to write, but I would likely not have the strong drive to edit, correct and clarify.  Indeed, modern technology is quite a blessing.

I thank God for giving me a love for and a reasonable command of words.  And again, I thank every person who has taken the time to read and share any of these posts.

Leave a Reply

